Airport Commission


The Airport Commission meets once a month or more as necessary and the public is welcome to attend.

Iowa Code 

The Dubuque Regional Airport is owned by the City of Dubuque.  However, the City Council's authority related to the Dubuque Regional Airport is limited to control on the Airport budget because in 1950 Dubuque residents voted by referendum, pursuant to Iowa Code 330.17 to establish an independent Airport Commission.

The Airport Commission, under Iowa Code 330.21 has, and exercises all powers related to the airport granted to cities by state code, except the power to sell the airport.

Ordinances of the City of Dubuque do not apply to the Dubuque Regional Airport or Airport Commission as the Dubuque Regional Airport is located outside the city limits.  City code is applicable within city limits.  The Dubuque Regional Airport is bound to comply with county, state, and federal laws.

The Dubuque Regional Airport is a public airport and recipient of federal and state DOT funds.  

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Agendas and Minutes from past meetings.


Five Airport Commissioners are appointed by the Dubuque’s City Council for terms of four years to operate and manage the airport. An Airport Manager, hired by the Airport Commission, handles the daily operations. The Airport currently has three standing taskforces to assist the Airport Manager in the areas of air service development, advertising, and general aviation.

Current DBQ Airport Commissioners

  • Michael Phillips, Chair
  • Marianne Kurtz-Weber, Co-Chair
  • Robert Blocker
  • Doug Brotherton
  • Sue Clemenson

Mission Statement

To provide quality, viable, competitive airport services and facilities while promoting sustainable economic development within the region.


To have and exercise the powers to manage, control, and operate the Dubuque Regional Airport of the City, except that such Commission shall not have the power to sell such Airport.